Skip to main content

    #1Summer School in Brighton

    Published prices only

    English course prices in Brighton, compared

    Comparing language schools is difficult because a "lesson" is not the same length everywhere and the advertised price rarely includes everything. This page puts the figures each Brighton school publishes itself side by side, with a link to every source. Nothing here is estimated: where a school does not publish a price, we say so.

    Last checked 17 September 2026. Competitor figures are taken from each school's own 2026 price list; Loxdale's are our 2027 prices, which are the ones you would pay today.

    Standard morning course: what you pay per week

    Schools sell different numbers of lessons, and lessons vary between 45 and 60 minutes. The fairest comparison is the cost of an hour of teaching, so that is in the last column. It is worked out from each school's own published price and published contact hours.

    Published weekly prices for the standard adult English course at Brighton language schools
    SchoolCourseHours a weekShort stay, per weekLong stay, per weekPer hour of teaching
    BLC International (Brighton Language College)English 20 (E20)
    20 lessons
    15£220£165£14.67
    Loxdale English CentreThat's usGeneral English
    20 lessons
    15£260£185£17.33
    ELC BrightonGeneral English 25 (GE25)
    25 lessons
    18.75£390£320£20.80
    LSI BrightonGeneral 20
    20 lessons
    16.7£365£310£21.86
    St Giles BrightonPeak Morning Course
    20 lessons
    16.7£412£290£24.67

    "Short stay" is each school's published price for its shortest booking band, and "long stay" the price for its longest band. Bands differ between schools, so read them as the range rather than a like-for-like week. Summer prices are higher at most schools, including ours.

    The fuller timetable, where schools publish one

    Loxdale English Centre

    Intensive English

    25 lessons, 18.75 hours a week

    £350 a week

    BLC International (Brighton Language College)

    English 20 + Skills 12 (E32)

    32 lessons, 24 hours a week

    £270 a week

    LSI Brighton

    Intensive 30

    30 lessons, 25 hours a week

    £480 a week

    ELC Brighton

    General English 30 (GE30)

    30 lessons, 22.5 hours a week

    £475 a week

    St Giles Brighton

    Intensive Course

    28 lessons, 23.3 hours a week

    £520 a week

    What the weekly price does not tell you

    Class size changes how much you actually speak, and the one-off fees change what you really pay. Both are published, so both are here.

    Class sizes, fees, homestay prices, ownership and accreditation
    SchoolClass sizeRegistrationBooksHomestay a weekNot-for-profit
    Loxdale English CentreMaximum 14£100£37 per 10 weeks£192
    Half board, single room. Bed and breakfast £159.
    Yes
    Registered charity, not-for-profit (no. 280428)
    BLC International (Brighton Language College)Maximum 15
    Average 10
    £65First textbook included in the £65 fee; further books £40£210
    Single, half board, low season. High season £230. Accommodation finding fee £35.
    No
    Private company
    LSI BrightonMaximum 16
    Average 11
    £95Not stated in the price list£235
    Single, half board. Bed and breakfast £195. Summer supplement £40 a week.
    No
    Private company (LSI group)
    ELC BrightonNot published
    Not stated in the 2026 price list
    £99Included in the course fee£205
    Single, shared bathroom, half board. Summer supplement £30 a week.
    Yes
    Registered charity, not-for-profit (no. 281859)
    St Giles BrightonMaximum 12£85Around £35 to £50 a book£235
    Single, shared bathroom, half board, off peak. Peak £269. Accommodation placement fee £50.
    No
    Private company (St Giles International)

    Schools that do not publish their prices

    These are well-known Brighton schools, and we would happily include them. On the date below, none of them showed a course price on their own website, so there is nothing honest to compare.

    Castle School Brighton

    No prices on the school's own course or information pages. The site states a maximum of 12 students in an adult class.

    Page checked

    EC Brighton

    No price list on the school's own Brighton page; prices appear only once you start a booking enquiry.

    Page checked

    EF Brighton

    Courses are sold as packages that include accommodation and meals, and no weekly course price is published on the site.

    Page checked

    How to read a language school price

    Check the length of a lesson.

    A school offering 25 lessons may be teaching fewer hours than one offering 20, because lessons run 45, 50 or 60 minutes. Compare hours, not lessons.

    Add the one-off fees.

    Registration, books and accommodation placement are charged separately at most schools, and together they can add well over £100 to a short stay.

    Ask for the maximum class size, not the average.

    An average of ten can still mean a class of sixteen in July. The maximum is the number that matters.

    Check the summer price.

    Nearly every school, ours included, charges more in summer, and homestay usually carries a summer supplement too.

    Ask where the money goes.

    Two of the schools here, Loxdale and ELC, are registered charities, so fees are reinvested rather than paid to shareholders. The others are private companies. Neither is automatically better, but it is worth knowing.

    Sources

    Each figure above comes from the price list linked here, read on 17 September 2026. Prices change; check the school's own list before you book.

    Work out your own total

    Our calculator adds the course, accommodation, registration and books together and shows the full figure before you commit to anything.